For Landlords

If you wish to rent to a Housing Choice Voucher/Section 8 family, and enjoy a number of benefits including lower vacancy rates, tenant stability, and free property inspections you should inform Delta Housing Authority of the availability of your property. Ultimately, it is the Housing Choice Voucher/Section 8 family’s decision whether or not to rent your property. Of course, as the landlord, you would screen the family just as you would any other prospective tenant.  The following steps summarize the process to become an Housing Choice Voucher/Section 8 landlord:

  1. Attend Owner Briefing (Recommended)
  2. Market your property 
  3. Complete suitability screening
  4. Complete and submit a Request for Tenancy Approval (RTA)
  5. Pass Housing Quality Standards (HQS) Inspection
  6. Execute lease and Housing Assistance Payment (HAP) contract
  7. Comply with HUD and DHA’s rules and regulations (enforce lease)