Welcome to the Delta Housing Authority of Delta, Colorado.

SCAM!!!!!!       Attention Housing Choice Voucher Applicants

The Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD)  alerted us to a concerning trend involving online scams targeting individuals seeking access to the Housing Choice Voucher (HCV) waitlist. It has come to our attention that an unauthorized entity is falsely presenting itself online, offering a shortcut to the HCV Voucher Waitlist. This scam has evolved, with scammers also impersonating landlords via fake emails and unlawfully soliciting deposits from unsuspecting individuals under the guise of HCV approval.

Please note that legitimate access to the HCV waitlist is always processed through an official Public Housing Agency (PHA). Importantly, at no point does the process require a financial deposit to secure a place on the Section 8 waitlist.

  1. Official Communication: All official communications regarding HCV waitlist placement will come directly from a Public Housing Authority (PHA). Please verify any suspicious emails or offers. 
  1. Legitimate PHA Contacts: Please verify the legitimacy of any contact claiming to represent a PHA at https://www.hud.gov/program_offices/public_indian_housing/pha/contacts. This link is a critical resource for identifying and confirming authentic PHA representatives.
  1. No Fees for Waitlist Access: There are no fees associated with applying for, or being placed on, the HCV waitlist. Any request for money in exchange for waitlist placement or expedited service is a scam.

If you were targeted by scams , please report your experiences to Delta Housing Authority and to local law enforcement. This information can be invaluable in preventing further victimization. You may also file a complaint with the HUD Office of Inspector General via https://www.hudoig.gov/.

Your cooperation and proactive engagement are crucial in protecting our communities from these malicious activities. Together, we can ensure the safety and well-being of all individuals seeking housing assistance.


Monday through Friday

12:00 pm through 4:00pm

(8:00 am through 12:00 pm by appointment only)

Mission Statement

The Housing Authority of the City of Delta will, within Delta County, assist in providing housing that is safe, decent and affordable.

Vision Statement

To provide a professional work environment that will place customer service as a priority, while giving each client a “hand up” not just a “hand out” during their period of transition.

Our Staff:

Housing Programs
Claudia Simental [email protected] Public Housing/                      Rural Development
Jasmine Huggett [email protected] Housing Choice Voucher/ Section 8
April Sanchez [email protected] Residences at Delta
Shawnde Young [email protected] Villas at the Bluff
Savanah Martinez                          [email protected] Administrative Assistant – Public Housing & HCV Sect 8
Erika Nieto  [email protected] Housing Operations Manager
Rodney Allen Maintenance Foreman
Eric Killins Maintenance Assistant II
Randy Varner Maintenance Assistant
Mathew Weedman Maintenance Assistant
Administrative Staff
Jeni Applegate Administrative Assistant
Penny Thompson Finance Officer
Ute Jantz Executive Director

 Delta Housing Authority
501 14th Street
Delta CO 81416

Office Phone: 970-874 -7266

TDD 1-800-545-1833


FAX: 970-874-8612


Limited English Proficiency services are available.

Habilidad limitada en inglés está disponible

Office Hours: 12 p.m. to 4 p.m. Monday through Friday